The growing love within me weeps! By Almira Lewis

This melodrama of emotions,
Sets Romeo and Juliet in motion,
The strings of my heart pull,
With each blissful smile,
Every look towards my direction,
Leaves only a glint in my eyes

It should be rather therapeutic,
But euphoria only makes it worse,
My pride won’t allow the caged bird within to fly free,
I hush therefore,
Allowing the words to choke me in silence

The ability to feel another body’s warmth,
In closet of proximities to mine,
Is the scoliosis that has curved every part of my mind,

How can this,
All African, Nigerian boy,
Want this easily poised,
Lover of all things on the greener side of freedom,
All Caribbean girl!

Yet there is a yoke,
I wish not to break,
As if some sort of hope,
Tells me that he whispers,
Away from my presence,
To the attentive walls,
The splendor I could possibly bring,
Taking in the sting,
He also feels

But my wishful thinking,
Is only getting the best of me,
Because eager smiles,
Have never really, deeply liked me,
So, I‘ll wait,
With potion in hand,
And a love letter of my heart’s silent suicide,
That if he kills,
His own heart for mine,
I know my feelings can no longer go unannounced.

Copyright!

 

 

Leave a Reply

